Inappropriate outings for children

I don’t want to have kids. Maybe I’m missing some crucial motherly instinct, maybe I’m selfish and self-centered. But that’s how it is. At the same time, I’m baffled by some parents, who seem to have no problem taking their children to all sorts of places, as if they’re just another bag of shopping they’re carrying along. (Except that mostly, the kids walk by themselves, rather than having to be carried.)

In India, I used to get annoyed when going to see a movie at the cinema. And in comes a couple, with a two or three year old child. The movie we’re seeing is Pirates of the Caribbean… Please explain, why did you think it was a good idea to take the child there? Half-way through the movie, when the scary characters come out and the movie gets noisy, it starts to scream and needs to be taken outside. Well what the hell did you expect!

Here in the UK, the phenomenon takes a different shape. The other day, I was looking at some lingerie at Ann Summers. After around two minutes in the shop, a woman walks in, around 35… with two boys; aged 10 and 12 approximately! I mean, call me conservative (OK well perhaps not that conservative, considering the business I’m in!) But still. Going to look for some bras and panties at Primark may not be so strange with your two sons. But walking into Ann Summers where across the shop there is a big display with vibrators, dildos, butt plugs and all sorts of other kinky things I think crosses a line of some sort.

I’m all for open discussion between parents and kids about sexual topics. However, I think it isn’t a young boy’s favourite pastime, being taken to look at women’s underwear to begin with. And then being exposed to quite explicit sex toys at the same time… Some things should remain private, don’t you think?

7 Comments »

  1. odzer Said:

    @ Hedonist : I was going to do this blog :p I guess you beat me to it. Kids! People indeed to take them everywhere like their car’s spare tire. In Japan it seems to be common to put child repellent noise machines in stores. It seems we need something like this here as well the only problem is I can still hear the noise :p

  2. hedonist666 Said:

    Now that’s an idea! Child and Odzer-repellent noise machines! God bless modern technology!

  3. odzer Said:

    @ Hedonist : I am willing to make a sacrifice and ignore the noise if the machines work against the kids. He he he

  4. Rolling Said:

    yes, u r right, it isn’t gracious/nice 🙂 came here looking for that potato slad recipe from Odzer’s, but landed here 🙂 but fried rice is ok too, infact I did manage to make chow last Tue, but yes it turned soggy and not crunchy was wondering what I had done wrong. Maybe I shd not write blogs while boiling the chow and wash it wth cold running water a bit? how does the ‘dash’ o lemon juice drops help? wht does it do the food? helps make it crunchy? I didnt use vinegar, dnt like the smell.

  5. hedonist666 Said:

    @ Rolling ; Actually I mess that up every time I try. The fried rice was a huge achievement for me! For good noodle tips, Odzer is the person to ask!

  6. kanagu Said:

    I think parents will need a lesson on where they can take their children at which ages.. else they are not going to understand it anyway.. I have seen a family of 10 members compirising of 3 little childrens coming to watch a night show.. The time when their child has to sleep they are bringing them to theaters.

  7. hedonist666 Said:

    Absolutely. There should be a compulsory training course before you can have kids… 😉
    Anyway, that’s not where it ends.. After a night out, getting some ice cream at a hotel that happens to have a late night cafe, amongst all the drunk people trying to sober up, you will always see a family with some small children… On a weekday!
    (@Odzer: You know which hotel I mean…. )


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

