I’ve finally managed it! Chicken Fried Rice.

For a long time, I’ve been having problems making Chinese style food. I don’t know why really. I just keep getting things wrong, and it turns out weird. Learning different styles of cooking isn’t that easy. I was brought up in Western Europe; so the standard fare of stews, potatoes, roasted meat, pasta  as well as German style baking etc. is not so hard for me. But then after moving to India, I faced a steep learning curve trying to replicate North Indian recipes. Well although in certain cases people would say otherwise, I think I’ve managed it to some degree. (Although, my chapatis still aren’t round enough! Damnit!).

So last night was an epic battle against the odds. I wanted to make Chicken Fried Rice. Again. Expecting something or the other to be wrong with it, like it usually is… (Now I’m sure there are people reading this going “What the F*ck?! Fried Rice is so easy!”… ). Surprisingly, it turned out fine…

Chicken Fried Rice

4 cups boiled rice – I used leftover Basmati, kept in the fridge for a few days

1 Onion – medium size, finely sliced

1 clove Garlic – finely chopped

1 Green chilli – finely chopped

4-5 small Spring onions – greens attached

200g Chicken breast filet – small pieces

Little bit of flour

2 Eggs

Salt, Pepper for seasoning

Vegetable Oil

Soya Sauce – any type you like, I used Light Soya Sauce

Splash of vinegar – again any type you like

First you prepare the chicken; after chopping it, you coat it a little bit in flour and salt&pepper. Preferably use a non stick Wok for this dish; or it will stick horribly! Heat the Wok properly, add some oil and coat the wok with it. Then add the chicken. Fry it until it’s done – take it out of the wok and keep aside. Put your wok back on the fire (clean it if necessary) and make sure it’s really hot again. Add Oil and coat it properly. Add the garlic and chilli. Fry for a few seconds. Add your onions. Fry for 1 minute on full heat. Keep moving it around so it doesn’t burn! Add the spring onions, keep frying for 1 minute. Then you break the two eggs on top of the wok, and stir vigorously. Immediately add the cold rice on the top and mix it in properly. Then add the chicken pieces. Season with salt, pepper, soya sauce and vinegar. Cook until egg is done, but not too long or it will burn and get soggy. You do NOT want the spring onions and onions to get soggy! They should be cooked properly, but still be crisp.

Serve immediately.

Variations: If you like your Fried rice with more vegetables in it, you can add anything you feel; mushrooms, beans, peas, carrots, bean sprouts, etc. But: it may be a good idea to blanch them first, because most vegetables take some time getting cooked. The bean sprouts you should just add raw though.

2 Comments »

  1. odzer Said:

    @ Hedonist : Thats a good recipe right there. I think the original fried rice is basically a leftover dish. I like the fact that your recipe does not have many ingredients. You should try a version with pork instead of chicken. You might like it.

  2. hedonist666 Said:

    He he it doesn’t have many ingredients cos when I made it, my fridge was practically empty 😉
    I’ll see about the pork, somehow, the cuts I’ve bought here were quite smelly and I didn’t like the flavour much… Perhaps with some bacon cubes or ham in it 🙂 that might be interesting… Obviously I do have to try a prawn version; I love those!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

