Homemade beef burgers

All this weight loss talk is making me hungry. Time for some comfort food!

burger

500g Beef Mince – I used extra lean. You could also use any other type of mince you like, need not be beef

1 egg

1 small onion – finely chopped

1 clove of garlic – finely chopped

1 green chilli – finely chopped

2-3 tbsp breadcrumbs

1 1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 tsp Garam Masala

Black Pepper – to taste

Red chilli powder – to taste

Combine all the ingredients until they’re evenly mixed. Form the mince mixture into round patties, approx. 2cm thick. How big you make them would depend on your preference, or what buns (if any) you intend to eat them with. For best results use a non stick pan; on high flame. Fry the burgers in very little oil first one side then the other until properly browned. Then turn the heat down and keep cooking them until done. This will take approx. 10-15 mins depending on how thick your burgers are. Test if they are done by pricking them in the middle with a knife. If juices run clear, your burger is done.

For Mushroom-Cream gravy: In case you intend to eat your burger without a bun, it is nice to have a tasty gravy with it. Finely slice 4-5 mushrooms (of your choice, I used Chestnut mushrooms but you could use regular button mushrooms as well) and half an onion and a small clove of garlic. If you’re as sloppy as me, some onion pieces will fall off of the burgers while cooking anyway, so you may use those and not chop any more onion for the gravy. If using a non stick pan, fry up these vegetables with your burgers. If you keep the heat high enough, there will be some meat juices coming out of the burger and making a nice brown coating on the mushrooms. After your burgers are done, take them out and keep them aside. Add a bit of water and 2-3tbsp cream to your mushrooms. Salt and pepper to taste. If the sauce is too runny for your taste, add plain flour, while stirring the sauce well to avoid lumps. You may season the sauce with any condiments of your choice, ranging from mustard, to red wine (use very little!) or even ketchup if you prefer. In my case I thought it was fine as it was.

Serve your burgers with gravy and fries and enjoy! (Or put them in burger buns with lettuce, ketchup/mayo, pickle and anything else you fancy.)

5 Comments »

  1. limeandlemon Said:

    this looks soo delicious … love the photo .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  2. hedonist666 Said:

    thanks šŸ™‚ the photo I can’t take credit for, somehow I’m useless with a camera so that bit was taken care of by my husband šŸ˜‰
    Your blog looks nice! I’ll have a read through some of the recipes tomorrow…

  3. astralwicks Said:

    delicious sin i agree although i am a veggie. bon appetite.

  4. hedonist666 Said:

    Oh well you could always try the mushroom gravy šŸ™‚

  5. odzer Said:

    I have been meaning to write about it for a while considering that I love anything that is meaty. Unfortunately events have prohibited me from being the first commentator. Well it looks absolutely fantastic and I am appalled that you did not do anything like this for me while here even though I understand that it would have been absolutely impossible to procure the required raw materials. However I am now increasingly tempted to make it to Europe somehow, oh you are making me work harder to make more money! You nasty nasty girl! All I can say for now is I am JEALOUS!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

